ASU geographers and planners celebrate success virtually


David Rozul

More than 100 faculty, staff, students and alumni from Arizona State University's School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning tuned in from the comfort of their homes to celebrate one another as the school held its 29th annual award ceremony for the very first time online. 

“I’m so proud of how the School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning has responded to this global pandemic,” said Trisalyn Nelson, director of the school at the opening of the virtual ceremony. “But even a global pandemic will not keep me from this award ceremony, which many of you know is the highlight of my year, so let’s celebrate 2019 and 2020 and all of our academic, research and personal success.” 

The virtual ceremony included recorded remarks and greetings from faculty, staff and alumni, who creatively introduced awards, spoke about students and left parting words of encouragement as everyone headed into summer.  

The format may have been different, but the energy and enthusiasm from the school to celebrate and honor one another had never been more inspired.  

Award recipients

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Distinguished Social Science Alumnus Award 
Max Wyman, PhD in geography '94 

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Graduate Excellence Award 
Ryan Heintzman
Megs Seeley
Yining Tan
Yuanyuan Tian

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean’s Medalists
Fall 2019 - Adrienne Gosnell
Spring 2020 - Amy Berry

Ray Henkel Scholarship Award
Rachel Stowers

Brian and Leah Swanton Urban Planning Scholarship 
Chase Hales
Mastura Safayet

Gage Davis Associates Urban Planning Travel Scholarship
Noah Schumerth
Corey Ferguson

MUEP Outstanding Graduate
Beth Freelander

Mary R. Kihl Leadership Award
Hannah Trostle
Taylor Sapero

Balling Family GIS Fellowship 
Arnold Chi Kedia

Matthew G. Bailey Scholarship Award
Madeline Kelley

Melvin G. Marcus Memorial Fellowship
Zachary Hilgendorf

Anthony J. Brazel Research Award
Mehak Sachdeva

Pat Gober Water Prize 
Megs Selley

View the full award celebration.