Outstanding Faculty Mentors

Home / Resources Faculty and Staff / Outstanding Faculty Mentors

Nominate your faculty for an Outstanding Faculty Mentor award today!

Has a faculty member made a significant impact in your graduate or postdoctoral career through mentorship? 

The Outstanding Faculty Mentor Awards recognize the importance of faculty-graduate student relationships and honors those faculty who make profound, lifelong impacts on their students.

The nomination portal for the 2019-2020 awards program is open September 1 through October 1, 2019.

Awardees will be recognized at the Outstanding Faculty Mentor Awards ceremony on February 24, 2020.

Nominate a Faculty Mentor 

Mentoring is one of the central professional development pillars of graduate education. Strong mentoring is essential to the successful creation of transformative leaders, knowledge mobilizers, master learners and career navigators.

Every year, the Graduate College recognizes outstanding faculty members for their outstanding service to the graduate student and postdoctoral scholar communities through mentoring excellence, commitment to professional development and career advancement and the fostering of inclusive, collaborative academic environments. Active, committed mentors not only offer coaching, modeling and feedback in academic and career development, but provide essential psychosocial and interpersonal connection and support.


Outstanding Faculty Mentor Recipients

2012 Elizabeth (Beth) Blue Swadener Professor of Culture, Society and Education / Justice and Social Inquiry, School of Social Transformation, The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
2011 Carlos Castillo-Chavez Regents' Professor and Joaquin Bustoz Jr. Professor of Math Biology
2011 Pat Lauderdale Professor, Justice and Social Inquiry, School of Social Transformation
2011 Cecilia Menjívar Cowden Distinguished Professor School of Social and Family Dynamics
2010 Kory W. Floyd Professor and Associate Director, Hugh Downs School of Human Communication
2010 Jon F. Harrison Professor and Associate Director of Facilities, School of Life Sciences