Outstanding Faculty Mentors

Home / Resources Faculty and Staff / Outstanding Faculty Mentors

Congratulations to our 2018-2019 awardees and nominees!

On Wednesday, Jan. 30 we recognized our 2018-2019 nominees and honored this year's recipients of the Outstanding Postdoctoral Mentor, Outstanding Doctoral Mentor, Outstanding Master's Mentor and Outstanding Instructional Faculty Awards. Highlighted this year by an address by Vice Provost for Academic Personnel Deborah Clarke and remarks by each of this year's recipients, the Outstanding Faculty Mentor Awards is an opportunity for ASU's graduate and postdoctoral communities to share in celebrating inspirations and accomplishments in mentorship.

This event is open to all graduate faculty, staff, postdoctoral scholars and graduate students.

Mentoring is one of the central professional development pillars of a graduate education. Strong mentoring is essential to the successful creation of transformative leaders, knowledge mobilizers, master learners and career navigators.

Every year, the Graduate College recognizes outstanding faculty members for their outstanding service to the graduate student and postdoctoral scholar communities through mentoring excellence, commitment to professional development and career advancement and the fostering of inclusive, collaborative academic environments. Active, committed mentors not only offer coaching, modeling and feedback in academic and career development, but provide essential psychosocial and interpersonal connection and support.

Outstanding Faculty Mentor Recipients

2015 Donald L. Fixico Distinguished Foundation Professor of History, School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies, The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
2015 Margaret Schmidt Assistant Director, Professor, School of Music, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
2015 Paul Westerhoff Senior Advisor to the Provost for Engineering and Science, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
2014 Alfredo J. Artiles Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College
2014 Sethuraman (Panch) Panchanathan School of Computing, Informatics and Decision Systems Engineering
2014 Pamela Swan Associate Professor, Exercise and Wellness, School of Nutrition and Health Promotion
2013 James B. Blasingame Jr. Associate Professor of English, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
2013 Marilyn P. Carlson Professor of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
2013 Elizabeth A. Segal Professor of Social Work, College of Public Programs
2012 Steven L. Neuberg Foundation Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychology (Social), The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences